HELP Identification of three cactus

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
Grub wurm
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None

HELP Identification of three cactus

Post by Grub wurm »

Hi all I'm new to cactus world and was wondering if anyone could identify these cactus for me? so i can look after them to the best of my ability and know what soil mix to get when they need re-potting, watering etc..
rsz_1rsz_dscf2111.jpg
Last edited by Bill on Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use "Place inline" when posting pictures. Thanks
Phil Hocking
BCSS Member
Branch: SOMERSET
Role within the BCSS: Branch Show

Re: HELP Identification of three cactus

Post by Phil Hocking »

Welcome to the forum - you've come to the right place. I think you have, left to right, a Gymnocalycium, Aloe ferox and Astrophytum ornatum. Something like that anyway. I prefer to grow them in a mixture of John Innes number 2 with about one third added grit. Avoid peat based compost or anything that claims to be 'cactus compost'. Water them from April to October and always let them dry out before watering again. They can stay dry over the winter indoors in a cool light position. During the growing season avoid watering if it looks like there is going to be a protracted period of cold damp weather. They will forgive you for keeping them dry for long periods but could easily perish if kept in cold soggy conditions.

Somerset Phil