Caudex plants (for starters) and other caudex questions.

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
phyllonemus
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None

Caudex plants (for starters) and other caudex questions.

Post by phyllonemus »

Hello all,
I'm opening this topic because I'm realy interested in Caudex plants and because Im a beginner I have a lot to learn.

I already know that Fockea edulis, Boophone distacha and Dioscorea are good starter plants.
I realy like to Know if the following species are recommended for starters also :

Adenium obesum
Phylanthus mirabilis
Ficus abutilifolia
Riny

Varied collection of succulents but I especially like Euphorbia's, Apocynaceae and Cucurbitaceae.
Tina
BCSS Member
Branch: NORTHAMPTON & MILTON KEYNES
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: Caudex plants (for starters) and other caudex questions.

Post by Tina »

Hi
WHere abouts will you be keeping/growing them, is it a windowsill or greenhouse.
Adeniums are Ok but need extra warmth, do well on a sunny window.

I have Phylanthus mirabilis but would say it can be a little temperamental so not a beginner plant.

Ficus are good, I have palmera with red veined leaves which is nice I think it helps with these to put them in a shallow pot so the root gets lumpier.

Calibanus hookeri is another good one which is quite tough but rewarding as it has a lovely shape
Tina

varied collection of succulents and cacti but I especially like Euphorbia's, Ariocarpus and variegated agaves.

Bucks, UK
Branch co-ordinator, Northants & MK BCSS https://northants.bcss.org.uk