Systemic insecticide for red spider mite

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
Mike
BCSS Member
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: WILTSHIRE
Role within the BCSS: Member

Systemic insecticide for red spider mite

Post by Mike »

Hello everyone.
Is there a systemic insecticide (available in the UK) that is effective on red spider mite? I have a degree of success with contact insecticides, but with some plants it's all but impossible to get to all affected parts. So, I've tried Bug Clear Ultra, which after two applications has not been 100% effective as a systemic insecticide. All suggestions welcome!
Mike
Based in Wiltshire and growing a mix of cacti and succulents.
Phil_SK
Branch: MACCLESFIELD & EAST CHESHIRE
Role within the BCSS: Forum Moderator

Re: Systemic insecticide for red spider mite

Post by Phil_SK »

I don't think so, no.
Phil Crewe, BCSS 38143. Mostly S. American cacti, esp. Lobivia, Sulcorebutia and little Opuntia
CactusFanDan
BCSS Member
Branch: MANCHESTER

Post by CactusFanDan »

Nope. The neonicotinoid based insecticide you've been using are ineffective against mites (as you've found out!). You can buy Floramite and Avid on eBay, which should both be quite effective against mites.
-Dan
Growing an eclectic mix of Cacti, with a few Caudiciforms and other Succulents. Also interested in African bulb plants.
My C&S blog
Nick_G
BCSS Member
Branch: None

Post by Nick_G »

The only 'cure' I have found for RSM is to take the affected plant out of the greenhouse and leave it unprotected in the garden somewhere for the summer. This year has been a bad year for RSM with me, quite a few Sulcos badly scarred.
BCSS no.33806