Lithops germination query

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
ragamala
BCSS Member
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: NORTH FYLDE

Lithops germination query

Post by ragamala »

I ordered and received about 40 packets of Lithops seed from one commercial supplier (I won't mention the name at this stage), and after three weeks had not a single seed germinate.

It isn't my sowing technique, necessarily, I sowed at the same time and in some cases in same trays another maybe 60 packets of seed from other sources (including MSG) and have had excellent germination results. I did run a small mesem nursery years ago in the 80s, so I'm not a beginner.

It is, however, many years since I last sowed seed, so I might benefit from more up-to-date advice.

My question is - is the failed seed likely to be too fresh? Or is it given the appalling absolute zero germination, likely to be dead? Should I persevere attempting germination, or dry off, recover what seed I can and try again later? Or simply ditch the stuff? Any advice welcome!

I should add that I did order cactus seed from the same supplier, and although I had germination it was again at what I consider a very poor level.
rodsmith
BCSS Member
Branch: STOKE-ON-TRENT

Re: Lithops germination query

Post by rodsmith »