I've been invited to give a talk on cacti at our local school

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
gerald
BCSS Member
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: OXFORD
Role within the BCSS: Member

I've been invited to give a talk on cacti at our local school

Post by gerald »

And it's tomorrow morning! I'll take some of my plants along to show off, and hopefully the class of 7 & 8 year olds won't get too bored. I've never done anything like this before, it's right outside of my comfort zone, but my 8 year old daughter talked me into it. I just hope they don't ask any awkward questions I can't answer :???:
Liz M
BCSS Member
Branch: MACCLESFIELD & EAST CHESHIRE
Role within the BCSS: Trustee

Re: I've been invited to give a talk on cacti at our local school

Post by Liz M »

These events are more alarming beforehand than the actual thing. I bet you have a great time and will look back and be amused by the strange questions you get asked. The main thing is to talk about what you know and not be too technical. Keep the conversation going whatever you do and try to tell stories, that always interests people, whatever their age. Also, be patient, people, especially children, will be seeing things they may never have heard of and have no understanding of. Listen and try to answer the questions. What you are aiming for is to enthuse people, show your enthusiasm and it will rub off. Have fun and good luck.
Obsessive Crassulaceae lover, especially Aeoniums but also grow, Aloes, Agaves, Haworthias and a select number of Cacti.
rodsmith
BCSS Member
Branch: STOKE-ON-TRENT

Post by rodsmith »