Second burgeri attempt

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
Magi
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None
Role within the BCSS: Member

Second burgeri attempt

Post by Magi »

I am a noob when it comes to starting mesembs from seeds, but so far I haven't found them to be too difficult with the exception of Conophytum burgeri.

Like most other mesembs I've sown C. burgeri germinate extremely easily, then it's all downhill from there. I simply couldn't gauge what kind of temperature or moisture requirement they need while they're young. They seem to achieve maximum succulence before melting into pulp. From that I suspected I've been overwatering them so I kept them away from the spout for a little longer, but they still disappeared one after another.

Below is a recent sowing from August. It is at the stage where they look amazing like last time, immediately before the decline. I do not want to repeat my past mistake. The only problem is I couldn't pinpoint what my mistake was. I hope the members of this group could provide some insight.

These onions are subjects to my mercy, so help me be merciful. Sown August 6th

I also attached a picture of C. obcordellum 'mundun' that's actually thriving, unlike the burgeris, so clearly there's something rather unique when it comes to caring for the burger's onions.

C. obcordellum sown in May
Aiko
BCSS Member

Re: Second burgeri attempt

Post by Aiko »

Your soil looks rather rough. Maybe that could be it? How well can the little seedlings extend their roots to some moist and nutricients?
BrianMc
BCSS Member

Post by BrianMc »