What is the best time of year to plant my seeds indoors?

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
BryanW
BCSS Member
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None
Role within the BCSS: Member

Post by BryanW »

I'm a total novice :mrgreen: and was wondering what is the best time to plant the following seeds indoors under LED lights?
I currently have red/blue lights, would white LED aid colour & patterning?
All advice welcome

Seeds I have ready for planting are:
  • Lithops (Various)
  • Conophytum Uviforme
  • Titanopsis Hugo Schlechteri
  • Tanquana prismatica
  • Dactylopsis Digitata
  • Faucaria Tigrina
  • Lapidaria Margaretae
  • Dorotheanthus Bellidiformis /Livingstone daisy (Will eventually go outdoors in containers)
Thank you in advance (tu)
Enthusiastic novice with a keen interest in South African flora
A Member of; Haworthia Society - BCSS - MSG
BCSS Member 51898
Aiko
BCSS Member

Re: What is the best time of year to plant my seeds indoors?

Post by Aiko »

With Dactylopsis you have picked out a species not easy to grow, especially as a novice. Don't be too disappointed if you don't succeed with this one.

You are aware that Conophytum and Dactylopsis (and in less extent Titanopsis) are winter active / short day active succulents? They need a different treatment than those that are active during the spring / summer months. The little book (The new) Growing the mesembs by Ed Storms is very helpful in understanding the difference between winter active and summer active succulents.
iann
BCSS Member
Branch: MACCLESFIELD & EAST CHESHIRE

Post by iann »

Last week. Too late now :mrgreen:
Cheshire, UK
Mafate79
Registered Guest