mancozeb

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
Bob Sobelman
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa

mancozeb

Post by Bob Sobelman »

it works wonders no algea. I have been using it for several years. I take a bucket of soil put on a tray
take 1.5 liters of water put 2 teaspoons of mancozeb in it them pour it over the soil. then let it dry out. then its ready for use. its a low risk fungicuide. no algea
Chris43
BCSS Member
Branch: HIGH WYCOMBE
Role within the BCSS: Branch Vice Chair

Re: mancozeb

Post by Chris43 »

Do you use this as preparation of compost for seed sowing? or just as part of your normal compost making process.

I currently dissolve a Chinosol tablet in my water for seed sowing, but am aware that it is getting more difficult to find. Also I have heard that this can inhibit germination, though I have never experienced any issue with this.

But if this product can do the same thing and is more accessible and probably cheaper, then that would be good.
Chris, Chinnor, Oxon, UK
Mammillaria enthusiast
BCSS High Wycombe Branch.
http://www.woodedge.me.uk/Home.html
Terry S.

Post by Terry S. »

Algae of course are essentially photosynthetic plants and mancozeb is a fungicide.
DaveW
BCSS Member
Branch: NOTTINGHAM
Role within the BCSS: Branch President

Post by DaveW »

Plenty of Chinosol on EBAY from Germany, it's just the postage (£12.88p) that makes the price excessive. Also the price range for the same number of tablets is a puzzle.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from ... l&_sacat=0
Nottingham Branch BCSS. Joined the then NCSS in 1961, Membership number 11944. Cactus only collection.
ragamala
BCSS Member