Top dressing for succulents

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
WayneM
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None

Top dressing for succulents

Post by WayneM »

Sorry if this has been covered before, but as a newbie I wondered what is your preferred kind of gravel or top dressing for succulents?

What would you suggest? Does anyone use aquatic gravel?

What works well for you ? Where do you source it from?

Would be happy to hear of your comments.

Thanks Wayne
Stevium
Registered Guest
Branch: GLASGOW
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: Top dressing for succulents

Post by Stevium »

I know it's very traditional to use top dressing, and it definitely can make a visual statement (I know people who use neon pink and black aquatic stones which looks super unique - and I've personally used tiny tan and white aquatic pebbles against teal plants which looks amazing), but I've moved away from doing this for three reasons.

First, I found it keeps my soil saturated for longer after watering and I'm convinced it's the reason I lost a few of my plants - and it additionally attracted fungus gnats which, whilst mostly harmless, are a pain in the arse. Secondly, I'm interested to see what's going on with the soil - I can tell whether it's wet or dry, any pups from plants that have stolons, surface pests, etc. Finally, if your plants are indoors and you accidentally knock one over, it's painful to stand there and pick up all the stones - though I guess this depends on what your setup looks like.
rodsmith
BCSS Member
Branch: STOKE-ON-TRENT

Post by rodsmith »