I'm new here

New members, please take the time to introduce yourself and your collection.
KeithB
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None

I'm new here

Post by KeithB »

Hi everyone,

I'm Keith (never!!) and at present, live in Stourport with my wife and have two boys (9 and 15). Other than plants, I love wildlife, especially birds!

I'm virtually a total beginner, but have been given the bug from someone on another general forum, which I'm not on now. Not being on there now, I need continued advice and where better to come, than the experts eh? I've started with a beginner set of three from a large retail outlet and since have bought a nice Euphorbia Pentagona. The three are an Opuntia, Lemaireocereus marginatus and a Mammillaria, nothing special, but they started me off! I planted them in a mixed bowl, but thinking about putting them back into individual pots again. I like Aloes, but only have two 'ordinary' ones, atm. Only thing I really need now, is a large greenhouse, so I can really get a collection together! I don't even have a small one. I have always been fascinated by Cacti and even tried to grow some from seed as a teenager, with little or no success and would love to have another go. They were a mixed set from a local G/C, so maybe that was where I went wrong.

Before they went into the mixed pot.

The Euphorbia

Diane
BCSS Member
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: I'm new here

Post by Diane »

Hiya Keith! A big :welc: to the forum! You may be a beginner, but stick with us and you'll soon progress.

A greenhouse is pretty essential, though you will see that some of us manage on windowsills, too. If you have the space for one, make it the largest you can manage! This passion of ours can take over a bit!

Your three plants are looking good, but as you have realised, they will be better off in their own pots.

Do keep reading, and don't be shy to post questions, we don't bite, and will help you as much as possible!