Hello - just joined

New members, please take the time to introduce yourself and your collection.
Amanda W
BCSS Member
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: READING & BASINGSTOKE

Hello - just joined

Post by Amanda W »

Greetings. I joined the BCSS last year and have finally got round to joining the Forum.
I'm interested in Crassula and have madly decided to set myself the challenge of aiming for National Collection Status. I'm fairly new to collecting - 2 years - and have a small, but growing collection. I've recently moved house (after two years of trying to sell) so I'm now finally in the position to start collecting on a grander scale. First things first, I'm busy looking at greenhouses, and would welcome any advice on what to look for.
Diane
BCSS Member
Branch: None
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: Hello - just joined

Post by Diane »

Hi Amanda, :welc: to the forum! Good luck with your Crassula project, quite an undertaking!

As far as greenhouses go, aim for the largest your garden can accomodate, (and you can afford), and a good quality one, which will be expensive. There are several makes you could go for, I'm sure other forumites will give good advice. My own is a Robinson's Professional, but there are others.
Diane - member of Kingston branch

Growing cacti - balm to the soul!
Tony R
Branch: CAMBRIDGE
Role within the BCSS: Member

Post by Tony R »

Welcome to the Forum, Amanda. I see you come from Reading and Basingstoke branch, so I hope you have Gordon Rowley's excellent book on Crassula. I grow quite a few crassula so if you are looking for anything in particular (next Spring or earlier) let me know by PM.

Cheers,
Tony Roberts
Treasurer, Haworthia Society
Chairman, Tephrocactus Study Group
Moderator, BCSS Forum
Kent
(Gasteria, Mammillaria, small Opuntia, Cleistocactus and Sempervivum are my current special interests)
Amanda W
BCSS Member

Post by Amanda W »