Hello!

New members, please take the time to introduce yourself and your collection.
Skribbane
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: SHEFFIELD
Role within the BCSS: Branch Vice Chair

Hello!

Post by Skribbane »

Hi everyone,

I live in Chesterfield and I'm a new member of the Sheffield branch of BCSS. I've been collecting plants for a few years now. As things tend to go, from a single Morrisons rescue phalaenopsis orchid, I have well over 200 now (database is currently being compiled!). My focus has been on orchids until relatively recently when I started branching out into succulents and now, cacti. Uh-oh :lol:

I've just bought my first house and I'm giddy with excitement for the prospect of finally having... a greenhouse! I'll hopefully be able to update with some pics as the project progresses. For now, here's my little Stapelia variegata, Stinky (my Mum moonlighting as a very able hand model).

A little bit more about me, I think my burgeoning obsession with plants stems from a general academic interest in morphology and classification. I'm a trained physical anthropologist and archaeologist and we just love looking at things and putting things in little pigeonholes (even if it's a horribly reductive way of looking at the great blurred spectrum that is life). I put my training to great use by working at a museum/archaeological site focused on the Palaeolithic period - and occasionally dressing up as a cavewoman.

Hope to meet some new folks at the local meetings. I'll try to avoid showing up draped in furs :razz:

Jen
Attachments
11873766_905404372859579_896873106194624773_n.jpg
Vice-chair Sheffield branch & Internet Committee member. @xericdelights on Instagram. 700 plants later and I still haven't picked a favourite genus!
Sylv
BCSS Member
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: Hello!

Post by Sylv »