Hello from Texas

New members, please take the time to introduce yourself and your collection.
rreynolds
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None

Hello from Texas

Post by rreynolds »

I'm Richard Reynolds. I've been growing cacti for only nine years here in the heart of Texas--Austin. I became interested in cacti many years ago from photographing them in Big Bend National Park, land of Epithelantha bokei, Coryphantha ramillosa, Echinocereus chisoensis, Ariocarpus fissuratus and many others (around 66 species). I built a small cactus greenhouse nine years ago and currently have about 400 or so mature cacti and several hundred seedlings. Weather here makes it tough to grow most cacti outside, what with the high humidity, high summer temperatures, and frequent flooding rains. I mostly grow Chihuahuan Desert cacti and make frequent trips to West Texas to photograph them in habitat. I've enjoyed reading the posts here for several years and now I've joined as an overseas member. Thanks for having me.
Echinocereus chisoensis
Echinocereus chisoensis
[attachment=1]
Attachments
Echinocereus dasyacanthus
Echinocereus dasyacanthus
Richard Reynolds
Mostly cacti of the Chihuahuan Desert, Mexico, and the American Southwest (and a handful of South American species)
rareynolds1000@gmail.com
www.richardreynolds.photoshelter.com
Tony R
Branch: CAMBRIDGE
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: Hello from Texas

Post by Tony R »

A very warm welcome, Richard.
Tony Roberts
Treasurer, Haworthia Society
Chairman, Tephrocactus Study Group
Moderator, BCSS Forum
Kent
(Gasteria, Mammillaria, small Opuntia, Cleistocactus and Sempervivum are my current special interests)
Echinocactus123
BCSS Member
Branch: NORTH DEVON

Post by Echinocactus123 »

Hello and welcome, it must be great to live in a place near where you can find them in the wild! :grin:
Henry,

A 15 year old with a love for Slow growing cacti, highland nepenthes and bulbophyllum orchids.
Diane
BCSS Member