"baggie" seed gowing.

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
Bill G
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: COVENTRY

"baggie" seed gowing.

Post by Bill G »

I'd like to try the "baggie" method of seed growing this year. I know the method has been around for some time but I have never tried it before. Can anyone give me a reference which deals with the "baggie" method in detail please - preferably in an American or British cactus journal.
Bill G
DaveW
BCSS Member
Branch: NOTTINGHAM
Role within the BCSS: Branch President

Re: "baggie" seed gowing.

Post by DaveW »

Why not online references too Bill?

Basically you just sow in small (2 inch?) pots as normal and then put them into a plastic bag which acts like a Wardian Case and recycles the water and provides a humid atmosphere. You can use ordinary plastic bags and say twist the top and close with a rubber band, or preferably use those "zip top" resealable plastic bags.

If you sow in seed trays you can use the same basic method by just placing the whole seed tray into a large plastic bag. In that case make some provision to keep the bag off the surface of the tray (wire hoops?).

A version of the baggie method also used to be called "The Clothes Line Method" since some people, to gain extra room in the greenhouse, used to string a "washing line" type string across the greenhouse and hang the sealed bags to it with aligator type clothes pegs to save room.