Lithops watering

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
Liz M
BCSS Member
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: MACCLESFIELD & EAST CHESHIRE
Role within the BCSS: Trustee

Lithops watering

Post by Liz M »

As I am a bit of a novice on Lithops, I thought I would check with everyone here first. I have a few Lithops and it seems to me I should start watering them about now. Some are still firm and have lost last year's growth, a few look a bit wrinkly and one or two don't appear to have made it through winter. I believe once last year's leaves have dried up and dropped off you can start watering, a little or a lot?
Obsessive Crassulaceae lover, especially Aeoniums but also grow, Aloes, Agaves, Haworthias and a select number of Cacti.
eduart
Registered Guest
Branch: None

Re: Lithops watering

Post by eduart »

Hi Liz,

Keep in mind that Lithops do not need too much water. The watering schedule depends I think also on the climate. I water my Lithops based on their vegetation stages. Basically there are two main periods when I water them:

- just after the old leaves have been completely dried off and dropped, and

- during flowering time (this includes bud formation)

I start every time with a superficial watering (just to stimulate the regrowth of the fine roots) followed by another 1 - 2 deep waterings. Very young plants do not flower but still you can see the fissure between the two leaves becoming A BIT WIDER, this is the sign that you can give them a bit of water. Watering in between is rather an exception and I need a good reason for this. It works for me.

Pretty much that's it for an entire year.

Cheers,

Eduart