Tylecodon wallichii versus cacalioides

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
lzrddr
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None

Tylecodon wallichii versus cacalioides

Post by lzrddr »

I showed a plant of mine, I had grown from a cutting some years ago as Tylecodon wallichii, on the succulent bonsai thread yesterday, and someone chimed up that it was not T wallichii but T cacalioides. Since I am no expert, I just wanted to clear this up so I understand the difference between the two. From what I understood, T wallichii is a common, relatively fast growing plant (which mine certainly has been... growing from a cutting to over 3 feet across in just 8 years in the ground) with bright green leaves that have a flattened (somewhat) side. Plants I have seen labeled as T wallichii have been pretty consistent here in southern California and this species is relatively common and cheap. I have grown dozens of cuttings from this plant of mine (keep hacking off the lower limbs) and they are so easy to grow it seems a crime to even charge $ for them (so I have just given them away).

See the photos below which show not only my plant, but other people's plants which I have understood to be T wallichii.

shots from the Huntington Gardens and plant show:
Tylecodon wallichiana H.jpg
Tylecodon wallichaina leaves coming back Oct.jpg
Tylecodon wallichaina leaves coming back Oct.jpg (102.85 KiB) Viewed 3787 times
Tylecodone wallichii at show.jpg
From my own garden:
Tylecodon wallichiana.jpg
Tylecodon wallichii more leafy.jpg
Tylecodon wallichii early flower stalks 4-12.jpg