Mealy bugs in winter

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
Timd
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: SOUTH WALES

Mealy bugs in winter

Post by Timd »

As a relative novice I would like some advice if possible. I am still finding mealy bugs in my collection. I have several hundred cacti and succulents in my collection and as such I keep my greenhouse heated so the temperature doesn't drop below 5 degrees. I spray with bug clear and the last watering I gave everything was in October. But I am still finding lots of the bugs even after checking everything . So they are new and not the dead ones. Would people recommend to continue spraying through the winter of wait for the first watering in spring. Thanks Tim
habanerocat
BCSS Member
Branch: EDENBRIDGE
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: Mealy bugs in winter

Post by habanerocat »

Take them out of their pots and spray them upside down.

Ok, this may sound a bit mad but bear with me. Because you have a recurring problem it means that they are probably hiding in the roots, under the pot rims and bottom, and at the neck of the plant. So take them out, have a good look, tread any obvious infections with methylated spirits or similar. Give them a good spraying upside down.

You can leave them out of their pots for a few weeks at this time of year. Re-inspect, re-threat, then pot them up in clean washed pots. I normally don't add any grit on top so that I can keep an eye on the neck of the plant for a few months.

Plenty of other solutions, but that's what I do......
Chris L
BCSS Branch Websites Co-ordinator
Branch: MANCHESTER