water - above or below?

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
Cactuscat2
BCSS Member
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: NORTHAMPTON & MILTON KEYNES

water - above or below?

Post by Cactuscat2 »

Hello! This query is probably too easy for most of you experienced members but as a newbie, I don't know whether to water from below newly potted plants (opuntia, echinocactus, agave, recently purchased as bare roots) or straight onto the surface. Is it different for older established plants? I haven't watered at all since potting a week ago. I'm a bit baffled by the different ways of doing things! Any advice is very welcome. Thank you!
esp
BCSS Member
Branch: BRADFORD
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: water - above or below?

Post by esp »

If you have just bought plants, they normally won't want water until at least March - most C&S are grown best in the UK with a winter rest, with minimal water. This assumes they are kept cool. If they are in a centrally heated room, they will want some water.

In terms of watering from above or below, for most plants, most of the time, it doesn't matter.
It's often more convenient to water from above, but some growers have all their plants in trays and flood the trays to water from below. BIg leafy rosette plants which have spread out beyond the rims of the pots sometimes need to be watered from below too, just because water from above will nearly all run off to the sides.
For tiny seedlings or other very small fragile plants, or those which have delicate leaf coatings, routine watering from below may be preferable.
Cidermanrolls
BCSS Member
Branch: LINCOLN

Post by Cidermanrolls »