Sedum suaveolens propagation. Did I go wrong?

For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation and exhibition of cacti & other succulents.
Forum rules
For the discussion of topics related to the conservation, cultivation, propagation, exhibition & science of cacti & other succulents only.

Please respect all forum members opinions and if you can't make a civil reply, don't reply!
wildedges
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa
Branch: None

Sedum suaveolens propagation. Did I go wrong?

Post by wildedges »

I've been growing this plant for a couple of years now and it's a good size but never puts out any offshoots. I tried propagating from leaf cuttings but with no success. This year when it flowered I cut off all the inflorescences and potted them up to see if that would do anything. They've all rooted well but they don't seem to be doing any growing. I assumed they'd form new rosettes from the base but nothing seems to be happening. I'm starting to wonder if they should have been left on the plant. Has anyone grown these and can offer advice?
This was the plant back in June when it was in flower
Diane
BCSS Member
Role within the BCSS: Member

Re: Sedum suaveolens propagation. Did I go wrong?

Post by Diane »

It looks happy enough there, maybe needs a bit more time? Mine has quite a few offsets, but doesn’t like as good as yours!
Diane - member of Kingston branch

Growing cacti - balm to the soul!
juster
BCSS Member
Branch: CROYDON
Role within the BCSS: Branch Show

Post by juster »

I've grown this plant for a good number of years and agree with Diane, it looks healthy, so maybe just needs to be a bit bigger. Mine offsets OK, but not quickly. Good luck!
Croydon Branch member, growing mainly cacti and Echeverias
wildedges
Registered Guest

Post by wildedges »