What would you like to know about Melocactus?

Habitat, nursery/collection and show tours.
Marlon Machado
Registered Guest
https://www.behance.net/kuchnie-warszawa

What would you like to know about Melocactus?

Post by Marlon Machado »

Hello,

First a brief introduction to myself: my name is Marlon Machado, I am from the state of Bahia in Brazil, but currently I live in Zurich, Switzerland, where I am doing my PhD whose subject is the systematics of Parodia subgen. Notocactus. I have been fascinated by cacti from childhood. My father owns a farm and in there grows a number of native species of cacti. I think that seeing these bizarre plants in their natural surroundings as a kid marked me profoundly, and I fell in love with cacti since then. I started cultivating cacti some seventeen years ago. But my curiosity about these plants was not satisfied by just growing them. At that time I had very little information about the native species of cacti, and I wanted to learn more about them. I started traveling in the field to see these plants growing in habitat, and before I knew it the study of cacti became my profession :) now I am a botanist specialized in the taxonomy and systematics of cacti.

When I moved from Brazil to Switzerland, I had to give away or sell the majority of my collection. The only plants that remained at my home in Brazil were Pilosocereus and other cereoid species - these are planted outside in big containers, some in the ground, and they need minimal care - nature tends to them, and my parents give the plants some water when the weather is dry and hot for extended periods of time.

But of course, I could not live here in Switzerland without some cacti. But because of the limited space in my windowsill, I had to specialize: I have in my windowsill 28 small Ariocarpus, 26 small Astrophytum, nine Aztekium ritteri, and a handfull of other things, including a few Euphorbia and caudificorms.